Montréal en Lumière English Cuisine: Tradition Meets Modernity

Montreal en Lumière has been one of the world’s largest winter festivals for 21 years. Since its inception, the festival makes the city vibrate and shine during its coldest period by bringing a little light, warmth, and festivities to the city. With its not-to-be-missed Nuit Blanche, shows, outdoor activities, and countless culinary delights, it’s an opportunity to experience Montreal’s winter to the fullest! 

On February 27th and 28th, as part of the Montreal en Lumière Festival, Auberge Saint-Gabriel is hosting with the theme “English cuisine: between tradition and modernity” with chef Calum Franklin from the Holborn Dining Room in London.

Irreproachable technique and high quality products are what await with Chef Franklin. In addition to his famous pies, he’ll be presenting some of his signature dishes with sous-chef Nokuthula Mbambo

A spectacular night for the taste buds and the eyes!

Price :  75 $ without wines ; 120 $ including wines

Reservations here or by phone 514 878-3561

Following his appointment as head chef of Holborn Dining Room in 2014, Calum Franklin has combined traditional cooking techniques with clever flavour combinations to create a comforting yet contemporary British menu. In 2018, Calum was integral to opening Holborn Dining Room’s Pie Room; a treasure trove of savoury delicacies full of intricate creations. Calum was awarded the title of best pastry chef at the olive Chef Awards and his beautiful latticework and creativity in pie making have earned him a cult following on social media.

After two years working as Senior Chef de Partie at Brown’s Hotel in Mayfair, she joined the team at Rosewood London in May 2014 where she currently works as Sous Chef. Outside of kitchen parameters, Nokx works closely with Women in Hospitality, an organisation that supports and fosters the career development of women in the hospitality industry. She is particularly passionate about bringing women to the forefront of the chef industry, by encouraging and supporting those starting their careers by organising networking events and workshops.

Montréal en Lumière 2020: la cuisine anglaise à l’honneur

Montréal en Lumière est, depuis 21 ans, un des plus grands festivals d’hiver au monde. Comme depuis ses débuts, le festival fait vibrer et briller la ville pendant sa période la plus froide en y amenant un peu de lumière, de chaleur et de festivités. Avec son incontournable Nuit Blanche, ses spectacles, activités extérieures et innombrables activités culinaires, c’est l’occasion de vivre pleinement l’hiver montréalais! 

Les 27 et 28 février prochains, dans le cadre du festival Montréal en Lumière, L’Auberge Saint-Gabriel vous reçoit sous le thème « La cuisine anglaise: entre traditions et modernité » avec le chef Calum Franklin du restaurant Holborn Dining Room à Londres.

Technique irréprochable et des produits de grande qualité : voilà ce qui vous attend avec le chef Franklin. En plus de ses fameuses «pies» il y présentera quelques-uns de ses plats signature avec sa sous-cheffe Nokuthula Mbambo

Soirée spectaculaire pour les papilles et les yeux !

Prix :  75 $ avant vins ; 120 $ incluant les vins

Réservation ici ou par téléphone 514 878-3561

Après avoir été nommé chef cuisinier du Holborn Dining Room en 2014, Calum Franklin a combiné les techniques de cuisine traditionnelle à d’astucieuses combinaisons de saveurs pour créer un menu britannique à la fois réconfortant et contemporain. En 2018, Calum a joué un rôle crucial dans l’ouverture du Holborn Dining Room’s Pie Room, un coffre aux trésors rempli de gourmandises savoureuses et de créations complexes. Calum a remporté le titre du meilleur pâtissier aux Chef Awards, et ses superbes treillis et sa créativité avec les tartes lui ont valu un grand nombre d’abonnés dévoués sur les médias sociaux.

Après deux ans comme chef de partie principal au Brown’s Hotel de Mayfair, elle a rejoint l’équipe de Rosewood London en mai 2014, où elle est actuellement sous-chef. En dehors des cuisines, Noks travaille de près avec Women in Hospitality, une organisation qui soutient et accompagne le développement professionnel des femmes dans l’industrie de l’hôtellerie. Elle est particulièrement passionnée par l’idée d’amener les femmes à l’avant-plan de l’industrie des chefs, en encourageant celles qui commencent leur carrière, et en organisant des événements de réseautage et des ateliers.